The Goan vegetable curry

I started cooking as a teenage when I was living as a paying guest with couple of my friends. My love for food has grown with the passing time. I wanted to write a blog related to cooking for food lovers like me.

Therefore, in this blog I will be share the recipe of Goan vegetable curry that I learn from my Chef friend “Anish Theavar.” Although, I must confess that it I had some changes to make it more “Homely.”

Goan Vegetable Curry

Goan Vegetable Curry | Image Resource : wordpress.com

The Recipe:

You can use different vegetables in this curry as you wish but make sure that they are fresh.

Ingredients needed are:

– Two cups (220 gram) of fresh or frozen coconut – grated.
– One tsp (5 gram) tamarind.
– One tsp (5 gram) fresh ginger.
– Using 1/2 tsp turmeric powder is optional.

Spices that has to be roasted

Coriander seeds – 2 tbsp.
Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
Peppercorns – 1/4 tsp
Two dry red chillies
Water – 3/4 cup

Vegetable I used:

Assorted French beans, carrots and cauliflower – 1 cup each
Peas – 1/2 cup
Potatoes – 1/2 cup
Water – 1 litre
Salt to taste

For seasoning use:

Using sprig curry leaves in optional
Two dry red chillies
Vegetable oil – 2 tsp
Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Asafoetida powder – 1/2 tsp

Preparation:

Place a small saucepan on medium heat. Put all the species in it and dry roast until the coriander seeds appears golden brown. Do not over roast.

Take a blender put tamarind, ginger, coconut, the roasted spices turmeric, 3/4 cups water and grind them into fine paste.

Take a saucepan with water; cut your vegetables into it, cover it and cook for around 10 to 12 minutes. It is recommended that you add little cauliflower when the carrot and beans are half cooked.

This will prevent them from becoming mushy.

Then add salt and ground paste and boil. If you prefer a thinner gravy, add 1/4 to 1/2 cup more water.

Take a small saucepan, heat the oil on medium heat. Put some mustard seeds in it. As soon as they start popping add the curry leaves, asafoetida powder and red chillies; mix well once and add this mixture into your vegetable curry.

Mix it well and serve hot with Parathas, roti has or rice.

Leave a comment