A Taste of History at Vadodara Museum and Gallery of Pictures

A true lover of history worships at a museum and the same act is pursued at a gallery by an art lover. I had struck fortune when I reached a place where I could find the most beautiful amalgam of history and art preserved and projected at the Vadodara Museum and Gallery. Located at Sayajibaug and founded in 1887 by Maharaja Sayajirao Gaekwad, this museum was created for the education and welfare of his subjects. This museum was an epitome of unique and varied collection of artworks. I reached the place at 10:45 AM just a couple of minutes after the museum opened as I did not want to miss a single exhibition or a single corner of the place to be left unseen.

Vadodara museum & Picture Gallery

Vadodara Museum & Picture Gallery | Image Resource : wordpress.com

The museum was a combination of two two-storied buildings with separate space in its entirety for the museum and picture gallery. These two buildings were connected by a passageway bridge. There also was a lot of construction going on in the other phase of the building. I started my tour with the museum building. I made my way from Michel Angelo and Graeco-Roman rooms to the special exhibition hall. I took a short trip to the Japanese and Tibet gallery as well. I was most intrigued by the Baroda room, which was illuminated with the presence of flabbergasting Gujarat and Maratha art. I finished my poaching for history and lead straight to the painting section where I witnessed the beauty of the Modern Indian art and European paintings of the 19th century.

It was 5:30 PM and the museum was almost at its closure. So we had to leave the place. It was virtually impossible to visit the whole place and lay my eyes on every beautiful exhibit that place offers. I tried to satisfy and pledged to take another day to visit the Vadodara Museum and Gallery. I was extremely sad that I couldn’t explore the amazing exhibits museum completely. However, I was happy at the fact that it was time to move on to my next stop, which was the mighty Lakshmi Vilas Palace in Vadodara.

Leave a Reply

