Kapila Theertham Waterfalls Tirupati – A Must Visit Place in Tirupati

It was after I reached Tirupati that I came to know that there was an ancient Shiva temple in Tirupati. It was located at the foothills of the Tirumala hills near the Kapila Theertham Waterfalls. I arranged a cab from the hotel to reach the place. It took about 15 minutes to reach the place. Here Lord Shiva is worshipped in the form of Linga and the temple is visited by a large number of devotees every day.

Kapila Theertham Waterfalls Tirupati

Kapila Theertham Waterfalls Tirupati | Image Resource : panoramio.com

The waterfall is the only holy waterfall in Tirupatui and a lot of people visit the place and have a great time near the waterfall. When I reached the place, I saw that a lot of people were already near the waterfall enjoying the cool touch of the water. I visited the temple first and then proceeded to the waterfall. I could hear the roaring sound of the waterfall from a distance as I reached near, the sound became louder. The scenery offered by the waterfall was really beautiful and I took many photographs of the waterfall and the surrounding area.

There is a legend as to how the place got the name Kapila Theertham. It is said that the great saint Kapila Maharshi worshipped the Shiva linga in the ancient times and it is how the place got its name. I was told by the local people that in the ancient times there was a footway that led from Kapila Theertham to Tirumala. Pilgrims first took a dip in Kapila Theetham and prayed at the Shiva Temple and then went on foot to Tirumala.

Kapila Theertham Temple is a massive temple and one of the ancient temples in India, standing at the entrance of a large cave in the mountains. The temple has been mentioned in the 10th century inscriptions. The large statue of Nandi at the entrance of the temple welcomes you as you reach the temple. I saw that there were also other temples in Kaplia Theertham dedicated to Lord Ganesha, Lord Muruga and Dakshina Murthy.

The temple and the waterfall at Kapila Theertham were amazing and I enjoyed and treasured my visit to the place.

Leave a Reply

