Naval Aviation Museum Goa – An Inspiring Place to Visit

After enjoying the energetic market of Goa the last night, I woke up a little late. Soon, realizing that I may waste this precious time, I got ready to leave for my next site – naval aviation museum of Goa. My cab was waiting to take me to the museum, which is India’s one and only aviation museum and is situated along the Vasco-Bogmalo road about six kilometers from the port city of Vasco-da-Gama.

Naval Aviation Museum Goa

Naval Aviation Museum Goa | Image Resource : flickr.com

The museum was established in the year 1998 and is one of its kinds in entire Asia. However, a few people know and visit this place; maybe, because of lack of publicity and awareness.

I could see the museum building from a distance. Reaching there, I was pleased to see that it was situated over a plateau overlooking the beautiful expanse of the Arabian Sea. The Museum has two sections – one is outdoor and other indoor. When I entered the main door, I was welcomed by the site of a huge ‘super constellation’, which appeared to be hovering over the entire place. This aircraft was initially used by the Indian Airlines as a passenger aircraft, then as a transport craft in Air Force, and afterwards, it was borrowed by the navy.

Naval Aviation Museum Goa

Naval Aviation Museum Goa | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

On further exploration of the museum, I came across various aircraft engines, some of which were used during the 60s. Moving ahead, there are seven different aircraft at display. Some are fighter planes, some with twin engines and others with a variety of roles. On entering the indoor section of the aviation museum, I felt as though I was entering the aircraft carrier VIRAAT itself. The paintings on the sides were making the feel of actually on the boards of the aircraft. Then I moved to the other rooms. In the first room that I entered, there were numerous armaments such as bombs, torpedoes, rockets, etc., displayed neatly.

The other room was the ‘Sonobuoy Room’, which are sensors used in aircraft to detecting enemy targets beneath water. In Suraksha Room, there were gadgets and protection devices on display. Further, there were Multimedia Room and hall of silence. There was also a Shradhanjali” granite slab paying tribute to fighters, who laid down their lives for the country. The Museum is scheduled open from 10.00 am to 5.00 pm on all days, excluding Mondays.

Leave a Reply

